Jason Charney

Composer, 2012


Jason Charney writes music for voice and orchestral instruments as well as electroacoustic and interactive media. Jason’s music addresses the intersection of the arts, science, and participatory experience.

Jason completed a Bachelor of Music degree in composition and theory at the University of Kansas, where he studied with Forrest Pierce, Kip Haaheim, and James Barnes. While at KU, Jason won the 2011 Anthony B. Cius Award for Most Outstanding Student Composer and the 2011 Edward M. Mattila Award for Most Outstanding Electronic Music Composer. Jason won the 2012 Allen Strange Award from the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS), an Art Local Award from vocal ensemble Octarium, and was a finalist for a 2012 ASCAP/Morton Gould Young Composer Award.

Recent projects include an interactive audio installation at the Spencer Museum of Art, a solo cello piece for Kivie Cahn-Lipman of the International Contemporary Ensemble, and a setting of Edgar Allen Poe’s The Raven for soprano Mallory Turlington and the Oklahoma State University New Music Ensemble.

Jason is pursuing a Master of Music degree in composition and computer music at the Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University, where he studies with Kevin Puts.

For more information about Jason, check out his website or follow him on Twitter.


Ocean Body
for violin, viola, cello, and bass


for soprano saxophone, marimba, and piano