Luke Ellard

Clarinet, 2019

Clarinetist, composer, educator, and new music collaborator Luke Ellard strives for art that continually reaches out, valuing a relational spirit, informed engagement, and unapologetic authenticity.

For Luke, collaboration is what gives music life. As clarinetist, he has performed with members of Eighth Blackbird, Fifth House Ensemble, International Contemporary Ensemble, Lone Star Wind Orchestra, Sounds Modern, Atlantic Music Festival Contemporary Ensemble, and has attended festivals such as Blackbird Creative Lab, Fresh Inc, Cortona Sessions for New Music, Atlantic Music Festival, and Masterworks Festival. His current performance projects center around cross-genre, electronic music, and newly composed solo/chamber works.

His collaborative spirit is reflected in his life as a composer as well, drawing inspiration from a personal and communicative place. His music has been performed by groups such as New Trombone Collective (Blue Interjections, finalist in the 2013 Slide Factory International Composition Contest), the North Texas Wind Symphony (The Seer, concerto for Bassoon and Wind Ensemble), the University of Texas Symphony Band (Shifting Tides), Michigan State University Concert Band, Barkada Quartet (threads of execution), and the Mother Falcon String Quartet (all I’m feeling right now, winner of Golden Hornet Composer Lab’s String Quartet Smackdown III). Luke has also attended festivals such as the European American Musical Alliance Composition Academy, Wintergreen Festival, and New Music on the Bayou.

Currently, Luke is a freelance performer/composer and private music instructor in the Dallas-Fort Worth area while pursuing the Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Clarinet Performance with related studies in Contemporary Music and Music Entrepreneurship at the University of North Texas, studying under Kimberly Cole Luevano and Elizabeth McNutt. Additionally, Luke has earned degrees from Indiana University Jacobs School of Music (James Campbell & Eric Hoeprich), the University of Texas at Austin (Yevgeniy Sharlat, Dan Welcher, & Donald Grantham), and Louisiana Tech University (Lawrence Gibbs, Joe L. Alexander).

 Chesapeake Clementine – Joseph Harkins

for oboe, clarinet, saxophone, bassoon, bass clarinet

Cricket’s Crossing — Greg Watson​

for violin, clarinet, cello

Concerto Grosso — Michael Foumai

for flute, clarinet, bassoon, oboe, horn, piano (4 hands), 3 violins, viola, 2 cellos, bass, conductor

Remembrance of a Duty — Sepehr Pirasteh

for conductor, flute, clarinet, oboe, bassoon, French horn, piano, violin, viola, cello, bass